Book Lovers Day | Autumn Reading List

It will likely come as no surprise that curling up with a book, clutching a large mug of tea (or hot chocolate on those really chilly days) and occasionally peering over the top of the pages at the pouring rain is one of the my greatest joys during autumn and winter. It is therefore perfect timing that Book Lovers Day has happened to fall on one of the wettest August days I can recall, and the low temperatures (is this really what we call summer now? Climate change chaps.) and the ever present rain have stirred the slumbering bookworm in me.

Unless I manage to get away for a week by the beach, reading often takes a back seat for me in the summer. Don’t get me wrong, I still read, but somehow don’t devour books in a way I do when the weather has turned.

Chit chat aside, I thought Book Lovers Day would be the ideal time to set some book reading goals for autumn. So here’s a handful of books, some new, some old, some not out yet, that I hope to read before the end of November.

1. Why I’m No Longer Talking To White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge – For months, literally months, I was hearing only incredible things about this book and so desperate to get my hands on a copy. When it was finally published I snapped one up and then found myself staring at it, the weight of what it was going to tell me almost scaring me off. I’m excited to start it and nervous of what truths it might expose. No doubt an important book, and an exciting one too.

2. Copycat by Alex Lake – Due for release in September 2017, this book promises to explore stalking and online identities. Think Catfish, but extreme. I’m excited to see what it has in store.

3. Chesapeake Shores (Book 1) by Sherryl Woods – One of my absolute favourite things to do is watch a cheesy, borderline mindless film or TV show and I found myself sucked in to Chesapeake Shores on Netflix earlier this year. Set in an idyllic small town full of family, friends and heartbreak, it is the perfect easy Sunday morning tv show and I am hoping the books will be the same.

4. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen – I’ve somehow not read Northanger, my favourite Austen, in years. It’s perfect for Autumn with its gothic tones, over imaginative protagonist and delicious Mr Tilney. I wonder if now, as an adult rather than an over enthused teen, I will still love Catherine as much, or whether my (I hope) more mature tastes will lead me to Pride & Prejudice.

5. MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood – There is no doubt that Oryx and Crake is one of my favourite books of all time, but somehow I’ve never made it to MaddAddam. I loved The Year Of The Flood, which I read earlier in 2017, so I’m excited to get stuck into this, the third book set in Atwood’s all too realistic post-apocalyptic world.

Leave a Reply

