AmDram Makeup: Shop Your Stash

If you’re obsessed with going to the theatre like I am, chances are you’ll have dabbled in the much maligned world of am dram at some point in your life. If you haven’t, why on earth not?

After weeks, even months of rehearsals the elusive show week will always seem to creep up on you, and is it really worth splashing out on new cosmetics just for a few days in the theatre? Many people may tell you it is, and that if you’re truly invested in your hobby you’ll have a collection of theatrical grade makeup to hand at all times, but for most of us this isn’t feasible. Whether it’s cost, convenience or just weighing up whether it’s worth it, we often end up shopping our stash!

So here are some of the products I absolutely love to use when I’m prancing around the stage of my local theatre! Disclaimer: I am not a makeup artist or a professional actor so I could be doing all of this totally wrong, it just works for me and these are my favourite products!

Revlon Rimmel Real Techniques Makeup Make Up Beauty Skincare That Emily Prime Foundation Brush ThatEmily Bblogger

With the sweltering heat of the stage lights, and constantly being on the move means a primer is a really helpful thing to prevent my makeup slipping off my face before the first act is over. The Revlon Photoready Primer is fairly affordable (£12.99) and works a treat! The Rimmel Match Perfection foundation works well as you can layer it up for as much coverage as you think you’ll need! I have it in two shades, one matches my ever so slightly tanned summertime skin, and this is the shade I use on stage to avoid being totally washed out by the lights!

Revlon Photoready Concealer Makeup Beauty Make Up Skincare Skin ThatEmily Bblogger That Emily

In the world of amateur dramatics we’re often heading to the theatre straight from work, having been at rehearsals until late the night before. Therefore, unfortunately, we can’t escape having some pretty hefty bags under our eyes! I love the Revlon Photoready Concealer as it provides full coverage and being in stick form rather than liquid means it doesn’t melt off my face under the heat of the lights!

Collection 2000 Boots Superdrug Amdram Makeup Make Up Stage Makeup Theatre Theatrical Bronzer Blush EcoTools Eco Tools ThatEmily Skincare Beauty Bblogger

On stage it can be easy to look a little bit too pale and ghostly, so I love brightening up my makeup with something cheap and cheerful like the Collection Gorgeous Glow blush and bronzing blocks. These are really affordable and a great way to bring some subtle colour and depth to your face. If you’re playing a character that’s, for example, a sprightly young romantic then you can use these products to add a classic pink glow to your cheeks! I also like to set all my foundation/concealer with the Rimmel Stay Matte Powder.

When the audience are quite a few metres from you, defined eyes are really helpful in getting some of the emotion of your character across! I use waterproof and long lasting eye makeup to survive the stage! The Maybelline Great Lash mascara works perfectly for my needs and I combine it with the Maybelline Colour Tattoo eyeshadow in On and On Bronze and the W7 Waterproof Eyeliner pen. These products stay in place all evening, no matter how enthusiastic I get on stage!

Maybelline W7 Great Lash Mascara Waterproof Colour Color Tattoo Eye Eyeshadow On and On Bronze Beauty Bblogger Makeup Skincare ThatEmily Theatre AmDram Theatrical

I am trying to convert to products that are cruelty free, and when I go to repurchase things once this collection has run out I will be purchasing cruelty free products wherever possible!

6 thoughts on “AmDram Makeup: Shop Your Stash

Leave a Reply

