#StageyBloggersChallenge

The lovely Sarah of Musical Theatre Musings has nominated me, along with Rochelle, Megan and Kath to complete her Stagey Bloggers Challenge – ten questions on musical theatre and how it has affected us!

So here goes…

1) What has been the best show you have ever seen and why?

This question is definitely too hard! I can’t decide, but a few stick out in my mind as being shows I was particularly moved by the first time I saw them – Thoroughly Modern Millie, Les Mis and Made In Dagenham come to mind!

2) What is your favorite theatre to visit and why?

Can I pick two? For totally different reasons I love The Palladium and The Menier Chocolate Factory. The Palladium is vast and full of old fashioned grandeur, which perfectly suits the impressive productions it plays host to. The Chocolate Factory is a far more intimate venue, and everything I have seen there really makes the most of the small audience, who are only a few feet from the performers.

3) What show have you found the hardest show to blog about/review?

I came along to review the opening night of Happy Days The New Musical; its first performance in the UK. As it was so very early on in the process for this show, there were several teething problems in the show and it was at times very hard to overlook them when writing my review!

Ralphie_IOW_1
4) What character in a play/musical are you most like?

I asked my parents who they thing I’m like and they suggested Dorothy from The Wizard of Oz – although I suspect it’s because I also own a scruffy little Toto esque dog!

5)If you could pick one character in a play/musical to spend the day with who would it be?

I would absolutely love a day in New York with Millie from Thoroughly Modern Millie. I imagine we’d excitably visit all the big landmarks, eat all the food we could find and sing far too loudly in Central Park together.

6) Name at least one other theatre reviewer or blogger that you enjoy reading their work/blog.

Other than reading Sarah’s blog, I really loved Prompts By Dee as a theatre and lifestyle blog to read!

7) The show that you want to see but have not yet seen (for what ever reason).

A Christmas Story: The Musical is a classic cheesy festive show that appears each Christmas season somewhere in America but has never made its way across the pond! I love the movie it is based on so much, I even named my dog after the lead character!

8) The show you wish would get a revival and why!

Is it too soon for a Made In Dagenham revival? I absolutely loved the show and found myself genuinely moved by the end of it. Alternatively I would love Company to be on the London stage at some point soon.

9) The first show you ever saw.

Pretty certain this was Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat. I remember being completely enthralled by the entire show and wishing I was up on stage with them all.

10) Describe yourself using the lyrics from a musical!!!

I’m calm, I’m calm, I’m perfectly calm, I’m utterly under control! – A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Forum

I nominate Prompts By Dee and Rebecca Felgate to complete this challenge!

5 thoughts on “#StageyBloggersChallenge

  1. My first musical was Joseph too! Before that it had all been pantomimes I think. And that was closely followed by The Lion King and (random) Bollywood Dreams – does anyone else remember that in the West End?!

Leave a Reply

