Travel Skincare: Flying

Travelling abroad means I generally abandon a lot of my usual makeup and skincare products. Half because they come in pots too big to transport, and half because I know that a change in surroundings means my skin needs a slightly different approach taken to it. As you may know I’m trying to transition my skincare products to cruelty free, however, this is a long process so many of the products listed below are not cruelty free. I’ll be continuing these posts with my top products for beach holidays, city breaks and freezing vacations!

Flying

Any length of time on an aeroplane can dry out your skin, so even if you’ve got spot prone and oily skin like me it’s important to keep a moisturiser on board with you. I really love the Simple Oil Balancing Moisturiser and the Nivea Sensitive Cleansing Wipes. There’s something so great about wiping off all your makeup on a plane, and arriving at your destination with a clean and fresh face. I know some people, especially on long haul flights, really make the most of all that time in the air and use a face mask or similar. I’ve only done this once when I was surrounded by friends on a plane and we all partook in this activity. I love peel off face masks as they create the least mess.

Lush Dream Cream Moisturiser Body Lotion ThatEmily That Emily Travel Skincare Sensitive Skincare Bblog bblogger vegan cruelty free

For my body, I love Lush’s Dream Cream. This moisturiser smells extra soothing and is great for any dry knees or elbows! Plus it has a light scent of lavender which is great to send you off to sleep on board. If your skin really suffers from the aeroplane air, consider buying Ultrabalm from Lush, definitely a great buy for any cracked skin. You might need to decant these products into aeroplane sized tubs/tubes!

I always pack a little bottle of Lush’s No Drought dry shampoo on long flights. After being in the same clothes for 11 or 12 hours it can feel great to refresh your hair in the bathroom (don’t get the powder all over your seat or seat mate!) and just step off the plane feeling like a movie star. It might sound cheesy, but when you’re landing in LAX you do kinda want to be mistaken for Young Hollywood.

Lush No Drought Dry Shampoo Cruelty Free Skincare That Emily ThatEmily Blog Blogger Beauty Bblog bblogger

Deodorant is another must have on board – I still with a roll on when at altitude as I don’t trust taking aerosols on planes. I love the Dove original roll on as it smells like soap and is super moisturising for your arm pits. Less glamorous than talking about makeup, but far more practical. Speaking of practical, a travel toothbrush and mini toothpaste are a great addition to your on board wash bag. I remember a time when airlines would give these things out for free, but now it’s less common so be prepared!

Garnier Bb Cream Nivea Skincare Wipes Sensitive Oily Acne Prone ThatEmily That Emily Blog bblog bblogger beauty skincare

Finally, just before I land, especially if I am meeting a friend at the airport, I put on a bit of the Garnier BB Cream for combination to oily skin. This BB cream is great, I actually wrote a full review of it a couple of years ago and I completely recommend it. It’s got great coverage and is really easy to apply and doesn’t require all the faff of blending etc. I will often add a quick coat of mascara just as the seatbelt sign is lit and then I’m ready to face the adventures on the other side of passport control.

5 thoughts on “Travel Skincare: Flying

Leave a Reply

