Blogger Bother: Motivation!

Whether blogging as a hobby, job or form of self imposed therapy, it can be hard to keep yourself motivated to post regularly. I’m completely guilty of this and have in recent weeks kicked my procrastination habit and started blogging regularly again! Fellow blogger Becky posts regularly on her travel blog and has provided some great tips as well.

photo (2)

Plot and Plan

Having a schedule for uploads can be helpful if you want to keep your blog updated regularly. The hard part is thinking of what to say!

I carry a small notebook with me so that when I’m on the train or dawdling in Starbucks I can jot down some ideas for blog posts. I try and keep these ideas categorised, such as skincare, travel, lifestyle, so that when I read my notes back I have a rough idea of what I intended the post to be!

I also note down any headlines or little facts and bits of information that have caught my attention. Then I can look back and see whether I have anything to add to the conversation about it.

Strategy

What are your aims for your blog? If it’s just an outlet for your thoughts and opinions then you can be free and easy, however; if you’re hoping to reach a wider audience and encourage conversation then you need to keep the content you’re creating stimulating for your readers. My general rule is, would I want to read that? Much the same rule as I have with buying presents for people!

If you have a specific audience in mind for your blog posts, then see if you can tweak the content and publishing time and date to best suit them. For example, if you think your target audience is school age, wait until later in the day to publish. If they’re at university you could probably publish a post at 2am and still get some readers!

Time

Set aside a bit of time to write. Even if you don’t get anything significant done! I like to make a cup of tea, get a custard cream (or twelve) and sit with my laptop typing away. Sometimes I come up with a half decent blog post and other times I just have a whole list of potential titles. Either way there’s a little sense of accomplishment when I close Microsoft Word and open up YouTube!

unnamed

Becky from Got The Postcard has also contributed her advice on keeping your blog going!

Motivation is something I always struggle with. I have the best intentions, but at the end of the day when I actually have time to sit down and write a blog post, all I really want to do is put my feet up and catch up on the latest episode of Great British Bake Off. So to keep myself motivated, I remind myself why I actually write on my blog. Yes, I want to share my experiences and try to give others the ‘armchair travelling’ experience. Ultimately though, the reason I blog is because I want to remember what I’ve been up to. 

 I love nothing more than reading blog posts back with my boyfriend and saying ‘ah, remember when we saw that’, or ‘oh wow that was fun, we should go back there’. Motivation can be difficult, but at the end of the day I write about something I am very passionate about, and therefore it doesn’t feel like a chore or hard work. I find time to write when I would otherwise be sitting around doing nothing, like on my lunch break, and if I set myself targets then I find that an extra boost of motivation. And of course, speaking with other bloggers, reading their posts, seeing stunning photos and other travel related articles makes me want to be as talented as those writers, and that won’t ever happen if I don’t practice and develop my writing skills by blogging!

 

Don’t be disheartened if your views don’t immediately pick up, keep at it and eventually an audience will grow for your blog! As long as you are happy with the content you’re creating, that’s all that matters! If you have any tips for fellow bloggers, please leave them in the comments.

Leave a Reply

