Summer Reads

With the days getting longer and Britain experiencing some uncharacteristic sunshine I decide to do what any good person does, and dive into the book shop rather than sunbathe. I picked up some interesting sounding books in Waterstones and am looking forward to carefully reading every word without creasing the spine (it’s definitely not just me that does that) over the coming months.

I’ve heard nothing but incredible things about Dave Eggers’ The Circle, including the Waterstones staff telling someone to read it last out of their latest collection of purchases, as once you’ve read The Circle, everything else pales in comparison. Part of me is excited by the prospect of this slightly dystopian look at our future, and another is almost willing the book to not live up to the insane hype. I’ll keep you posted on how it goes, but I’m definitely looking forward to reading it on the train!

I like to balance my “hard reads” (i.e. books with quite thought provoking content) with some lighter reads and last year I read and really enjoyed Giovanna Fletcher’s debut novel Billy and Me, so I was excited to hear that the new mum has another book out You’re The One That I Want. I picked this up today, after a quick read of the blurb and it sounds exactly like the sort of fun romance that I really love to read when I need a bit of a pick me up, or can’t face reading another page about something horrifically serious.

Ever since reading Hoot many years ago, I have really enjoyed the wit of Carl Hiaasen. Star Girl was a fast paced and amusing read, and I’m hoping Nature Girl will be the same. I take a bit of persuading to walk into the Crime section of the book store, but Hiaasen has a hold over me! His writing is quick, witty and full of twists and really engaging (if sometimes bizarre) characters.

The Dice Man comes on the recommendation of fellow blogger Caz and is one of the more hefty books in my pile, here’s hoping it doesn’t tip me over my strict checked luggage weight limit! Telling the story of a man whose entire life decisions are based around the roll of a dice. Handing over to such an unempathetic locus of control is a really interesting prospect and I can’t tell right now whether this book will swing to the dark or amusing side just yet. No spoilers please!

Finally on my pile is another friend recommendation, The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer. From a cursory read through the first chapter it’s one of those books I can tell I’ll have to power through in order to discover whatever amazing twist lies in wait for me on the final page.

I’m sure I’ll be adding more to my collection of summer reads so stay tuned for my reviews of the above, and many more! Let me know if you have any recommendations, all genres etc are welcome!

Leave a Reply

