Oily Skin Routine

As fancy and fabulous as some products can sound, we can’t really afford to be spending lots of money on one off treatments, so what are the constant staples of my skincare routine?

Oily and spot prone skin is almost always very sensitive, largely as a result of all the chemicals used on it, so my number one priority with products is picking things that won’t cause a really attractive red rash to flare up on my face. Of course, as well as this I try and take note of the oils and other grease causing ingredients in products so I can avoid breaking out.

In the UK you often get prescribed Duac to manage acne – it’s really effective as a topical treatment but its main effect is drying out the skin, therefore you should probably balance Duac with an appopriate moisturiser. I’m a huge fan of Simple’s Oil Balancing Moisturiser that can be found at Boots here. So what is my routine?

Image-1 (5)

1. Exfoliating

I use Lush’s Let The Good Times Roll as a gentle exfoliator on my face, you can read my review here. However, if you find that this kind of product is too moisurising for your skin, then try Lush’s Herbalism (specifically for oily and spot prone skin) or another great product is the Neutrogena Oil Free Grapefruit Scrub. All of these are great, gentle exfoliators that help clear your pores ready for stage two.

2. Cleansing and toning

I’m terrible at using toner, I’ve still not found one that isn’t super oily. However, for years I have trusted and used the Clean & Clear Blackhead Clearing Cleanser. This product usually retails between £3.50 and £4 and will last you for about 3 months if used twice a day.  It’s just acidic enough to really do something, without flaring up any sensitivites in my skin. It leaves my face feeling oil free but not crusty and dry and is my absolute favourite product when it comes to clear skin. Check it out here along with the rest of the Clean & Clear range.

3. Duac

Each night I apply a thin layer of Duac to problem areas of my face. Personally I’ve found this to be a really effective way to combat spots and acne. However, I also know people who find that Duac does nothing for them except dry out their skin, so it’s worth testing the product for a bit and judging the results for yourself.

Each morning I repeat steps 1 and 2, then apply a layer of Simple’s Oil Balancing Moisturiser to my face before any concealer etc. That way I like to believe my skin is a little bit protected from all the makeup I am throwing on, undoing all my good cleansing work!

Let me know what your routine is, and if there’s anything else you’d like to know about mine!

Leave a Reply

