BB Creams for Acne Scars

It’s all too easy for me to stick to a beauty/make up regime that is affordable, easy and comfortable. However, over time, my skin has changed and I’ve managed to add many different steps to my everyday make up routine, making it much less time efficient than it initially was.  Having suffered from severe acne throughout my teenage years, my skin is sensitive and hard to give an even finish to. I was sceptical when BB creams were first on the market, the heavy advertising with very little explanation of what they were really put me off, and I avoided them like the plague, sticking to my usual make up. Then came the revelation…

photo (2)

BB cream or, Blemish Balm, is essentially a cleverly marketed tinted moisturiser, without a lot of the cons tinted moisturiser had. The texture is light, coverage is even and not too intense or “cakey” anywhere. The main benefit to BB cream is that it has evolved into a more sophisticated product. There are various different options available from different brands but my absolute favourite is the Garnier BB Cream for combination/oily skin. You’ll find this in the skincare aisle of Boots or Superdrug, rather than alongside the make up. At anything from £7.49 to £9.99 this an affordable luxury to add to your collection. The fact that it is designed for oily skin means the finish is matte and light, it covers pores but does not block them and evens out your skin tone well. On lazy days when moisturiser, primer, foundation etc seems like a lot of work, a simple BB cream with some concealer and powder does a great job of giving me a clean, fresh and even skin tone.

photo (1)

In terms of covering acne scars, and redness left from my spot prone days, the BB cream gives me the confidence I want from make up to leave the house, as shameful as that is to admit. The light texture means I don’t have to pile it on in order to cover problem areas, and it doesn’t appear to encourage any rashes or spots. My skin is sensitive as a result of years of antibiotics for acne, and I’m often loathed to try new products in case of a reaction, but Garnier’s BB cream caused me no problems. I use the fair, which seems to match my skin tone nicely. I paired this BB cream with Maybelline Dream Lumitouch highlighting concealer, which works well for me below my eyes and around my nose, where there are dark and uneven patches. I finished off my face with Rimmel London‘s Stay Matte pressed power in 002 Pink Blossom. This gives me a fresh and even skin tone, perfect for sunny spring days lazing in the garden or strolling through the shops. I think my usual make up routine will still apply for nights out etc, especially for events where photos will be taken!

However, if acne scars are a problem for you, definitely consider BB cream as an easy alternative to extensive foundation coverage.

21 thoughts on “BB Creams for Acne Scars

  1. Great blog really interesting that you found enough coverage in a BB cream! Check out my latest blog if you have a moment 🙂

    Xx
    (Beautyclass101.wordpress.com)

  2. Excellent that you’ve found a way to treat your scars probably a lot cheaper that having to pay for cosmetic surgery to have your scars treated. It’s Brilliant that a simple product can really help with your confidence.

  3. Good blog very interesting and I’m happy this worked out for you. Glad your confidence level has risen. Another great product to use is Revitol. Trusted and used by many people worldwide.

    God Bless!.

    1. Thanks so much for your comment! I am aware that acne and acne scars are something of a taboo topic, but hopefully other people will be finding ways to be more confidence with them as well 🙂

  4. Hello,

    Interesting post there. 🙂

    I am happy that you found a solution for your acne scars (have quite a few of those myself). Personally I prefer to use Asian brand BBs because they give you more coverage (compared to the western brands, which as you noted has similar coverage to tinted moisturiser).

    the asian BB brands tend to have medium coverage, almost as good as full foundation, just lighter on the face, light enough for daily use. If you feel like it take a look at some of the Asian brands available.

    Stay pretty! 🙂 🙂

  5. Gel strips were recommended by my surgeon and so was the Dr Max Powers Scar Serum. Teh Strips did NOT work, but the Dr Max Serum did work. The scar does look better, and I could see a difference when I would remove the gel strip. Also, I would feel a faint stinging when it was on, which I felt meant it was doing its magic.

    IMPORTANT TO KNOW – you should use the serum TWICE per day. I saw a big difference when i used the dr max serum TWICE per day, not once per day.

Leave a Reply

